I wish my students knew…

9 May

After reading an article about Kyle Schwartz, a third-grade teacher from Colorado, who challenged her kids to complete the statement “I wish my teacher knew” that instantly sparked a trigger in me.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3042711/I-wish-teacher-knew-don-t-pencils-home-homework-heartbreaking-letters-graders-wrote-teacher-eye-opening-lesson.html

I teach an amazing group of Grade 6/7s this year. I think I’ve really found my niche in upper intermediate. That isn’t to say that I haven’t had my fair share of challenges either. I won’t go into detail about the behavioural dynamics of my class because I want to respect my learners. However, I will say that each child brings character into my room each morning. Some come to school each day with a bright smile, others can barely stay awake until recess, and others don’t show up 90% of the time. In fact, I haven’t had all 27 of my kids show up to school since OCTOBER! There’s always one or two, or like today, five kids away at a time for various reasons.

This year, I’ve really developed a passion for social-emotional learning. With such diversity in my class, I’ve come to realize that teaching is so much more than academics. In a nice, middle class neighbourhood, sometimes it’s hard for the parents and kids to not be so hard on themselves, not to care so much about academics.

Inspired my Kyle Schwartz, I knew I had to challenge my kids with the same statement today. I boldly wrote the statement “I wish my teacher knew…” on our class meeting agenda at the beginning of the week. I prompted my kids to think about this statement each day as our class meeting was approaching. Today, after my daily read aloud (Out of My Mind by Sharon M Draper) I asked my kids to think about that statement and make a connection to Melody, the protagonist. A girl with Cerebral Palsy who has so much trapped inside her head that she can’t express. Then, I had them write. What are some things they would want me to know? I pushed my kids to really dig deep, reflect, explore. The results were astonishing. Unlike Kyle, I choose not to share my student’s reflections because that is between me and them.

To end our class meeting, I wrote them a piece that I had prepared called “I wish my students knew…”. Needless to say, I cried. I was vulnerable, authentic, real. I think my kids really appreciated that. Some of them cried too. As I think about the next 7 weeks we have left in the school year, I think about the impression I’ve made on my kid’s lives. Did I make each interaction count? Do my students feel valued? Important? Loved by me? I hope ten, twenty years down the road my kids will still remember me. Not for the lessons I prepared, not for the cool projects we did, not for Genius Hour, not for the way technology was integrated into our classroom. I hope my students remember me for the way I tried to make them feel special and loved, each and everyday.

I wish my students knew…

I wish my students knew that I wanted to be a teacher from a very young age. I think it was Grade 4 when I had that “ah ha” moment in my life. Then, I wanted to become a veterinarian (but having allergies wouldn’t make that possible). In high school, I dreamt of being a news anchor, an entrepreneur, a computer engineer, a dance choreographer! I worked really hard to get into SFU’s business program. They only accept Grade 12 grads with an average of 86% or higher. 

I wish my students knew how crappy I felt during my first few years of university. I was always good at school. I knew how school worked. Suddenly, I was failing classes and almost put on academic probation. That’s where they kick you out of university if you don’t pick up your grades. 

I wish my students knew that I had to be brought down to such a level, where I was failing business classes in order for me to try new things and realize that teaching was meant for me. If I became a marketer or entrepreneur, I don’t think I would have been very happy. 

I wish my students knew that teachers don’t go into teaching for the money. I wish my students knew that I’ll probably have to work over the summer in order to pay for my wedding, a house, insurance, etc. I wish my students knew that I’m not ashamed of that though. I love working, I love being busy, I love trying new things & always meeting new people. I wish my students knew how much my part-time jobs since I was 15 helped me build character, strength, social skills, dealing with conflict.

I wish my students knew that I’m kind of scared to get married. Not because I don’t love my fiancé, but because I really have to be a grown up now. That stresses me out. 

I wish my students knew that teachers still get bullied. By the government; by the public. I wish my students knew that teaching is the one profession where everyone in the world thinks they know how to do our job because they went to school at some point in their lives. I wish my students knew how much love I put into everything that I do. 

I wish my students knew that I’m here, sometimes past 8pm, prepping, marking, creating, researching. I wish my students knew that I know sometimes my lessons suck. I mess up. They aren’t exciting. And when my students ask to do things differently or complain about assignments, I get self-critical. I wish my students knew that that doesn’t make me feel like a bad teacher. I think I’m a pretty good teacher a lot of the time. 

I wish my students knew, each and every day how much I care for them and love them. I wish my students knew that I’m not against them. Ever. Even when I’m disciplining them, or being constructive, & even critical sometimes. I’m never against them. I wish my students knew that I’m hard on them because I have high expectations that they CAN reach. I want to push your potential to its fullest. 

I wish my students knew that sometimes they hurt my feelings with the way they act and speak towards me. I wish my students knew that I wasn’t always this patient & it’s a skill that I really had to develop over the last 10 years!

I wish my students knew that I know about their home life. I know a lot of their background story. I wish I knew more. I wish my students knew that they shouldn’t be ashamed because of the way their families look on the outside or feel on the inside. I wish my students knew that I accept all of their faults, even if their families don’t.

I wish my students knew that I’ve made big mistakes while growing up. One of those mistakes resulted in cutting off a friend that I’ve known since Grade 3. Her and I have not spoken to each other in 8 years. 

I wish my students knew that they will make the same huge mistakes. But everything in life happens for a reason. We have purpose. We were all put on this earth for a purpose. I wish my students could believe that things will work themselves out. There are many blessings in disguise. 

I wish my students knew that I truly don’t believe in coincidences. It was not by chance that I would be your teacher this year, it was not by chance that out of the 100 Grade 6s & 7s at Dogwood, the 27 of you were chosen to be in this class. I wish my students knew that I hand-picked each and every one of you to be in this class, knowing your background story beforehand.

I wish my students knew how proud I am of them. I wish my students could step into my shoes for one day and see how far the class has come, together. I wish my students knew that there will be bumps ahead in the next 7 weeks. I wish my students knew that regardless of how much they tune me out, defy me, disrespect me, roll their eyes at me or mumble under their breath that I still love you & it doesn’t change. But that doesn’t mean you can take advantage of my kindness. 

I wish my students knew the role I play each day. I am a counsellor, an emotional punching bag, a cop, a juror/judge, a custodian, a banker, a decorator, a comedian, an artist and so much more. Each day, I don’t know what to expect. Each minute I don’t know how you will react. But regardless of it all, I love & adore & care for each one of you.

I wish my students knew how much I love being a teacher for all of these reasons. 

Leave a comment